DIY: Homemade Deodorant

After commenting recently about my love for the homemade deodorant that I use, I thought I would share the recipe for anyone that might be interested.  Making my own deodorant came about because despite years of trying, I have never found a  natural deodorant that I really liked.  (I started using natural deodorants because I am not particularly a fan of many of the ingredients found in regular deodorant/antiperspirants, including aluminum compounds).

I can not remember how I first learned that you can make your own all-natural and healthy deodorant but once I realized I could do it, do it I did.  After a great deal of research on recipes (because there are lots of recipes out there), what I found was that despite those numerous recipes, in the end, the base ingredients tended to be a combination of coconut oil, baking soda and cornstarch or arrowroot powder. And often, there was some type of additional moisturizer (e.g. shea butter, cocoa butter or vitamin E) and the use of essential oils for scent.

The recipe I use is what I like and what works amazingly for me.  After having looked at lots of recipes, having researched the ingredients and after having read lots of reviews, I decided on the following recipe based on the one here.  I love this stuff so much that, seriously, I have no plans on ever going back to the stuff you buy in stores, natural or not.

While some of the ingredients in the recipe can be a bit costly, they last a long time.  I am still on the same container of shea butter and coconut oil that I purchased for my first batch and I am now on my fourth batch.  And since each batch lasts a couple of months, I think it ends up to be totally worth it.

Homemade Deodorant
2 TBSP unrefined coconut oil
2 TBSP baking soda
2 TBSP arrowroot powder*  (can use talc-free cornstarch)
1 1/2 -2 TBSP of shea butter
2-3 drops of tea tree oil*  (or other essential oil but make sure it is one that doesn’t irritate your skin or allergies)

1.  Create a double broiler.  I used a stainless steel bowl over a medium-sized saucepan.  Add a little water to the saucepan and put the bowl on top (make sure the bowl is bigger than the opening of the saucepan).  Turn the burner on to medium-high heat.

2.  Add the coconut oil and melt.  Then add the shea butter and let it melt.

3.  Pour the melted oils into a small container.  Add the arrowroot powder and the baking soda.  Stir to incorporate.  Then add a few drops of essential oil.  I use tea tree oil because I like the smell, because it does not irritate my skin and because it creates a great scent when combined with shea butter.  Side note: Tea tree oil is also a natural anti-septic and anti-fungal.

4.   Place in a container for storage.  I use a small-sized mason jar but you can use any type of small glass container.

5.  Place in the refrigerator for several hours until it sets.  It will get very hard at this point.  But it will soften once it comes to room temperature.  The final texture for me is kind of like a thick lotion and I like that.  (FYI: Some recipes I have seen result in a texture that is more firm than the one I use).  Once it comes to room temperature, it is ready to use. :)

If you have any questions or want more details, feel free to leave a comment or you can email me at violetsandcardamom@gmail.com.

41 thoughts on “DIY: Homemade Deodorant

  1. This is brilliant – I should be this innovative….I am saving this – I’ll keep you posted! Gosh, posts like this make me realize why the blog world can be so special!

  2. I’ve tried almost everything natural out there and get sooo frustrated with it all. Hot Oklahoma summers make excellent trail grounds for such as this. :D I think I’ll have to give it a go. Thanks!

  3. OK, I’ve been playing around with this idea for awhile, but wasn’t sure how it would actually work out, so I’m glad to hear your opinion! I’m definitely going to give it a try. I love making my own laundry soap, this may be the next one. I also like that it is a cream instead of solid stick deodorants. A few years ago twist up creams were popular, but I never find them any more.

    I pinned this on Pinterest, too.

  4. HI! I have 2 questions: 1) My summers are never under 100 degrees. I have no qualms about sweating, so no worries there. But does it need to be stored in a cool place? The only cool place is my fridge. No Air Conditioning (sad face). It would always be…somewhat soft, lol! 2) Do you have sensitive skin? Is arrowroot better than talc free cornstarch for sensitive skin? Or does that really matter? Thanks! Can’t wait to try this.

    • Hi! I am glad you are excited about trying this. It does not need to be stored somewhere cool but, as you suggested, it will be pretty soft (even a bit liquid-like) if it is out where it is that warm. If it is quite soft, basically you can just “dip” your fingers in it and place it under you arms. You will then, of course, just need to wash you hands when you are done but you would probably have to do that anyways. You could always keep it in your fridge too if you wanted. It will just be based on what you are most comfortable with. Also, I do get a bit sensitive under the arms but have found both arrowroot and cornstarch work for me. Not sure if one or the other would be better for sensitivity. Hope this helps!!

      • This is excellent! I apparently didn’t have any tea tree oil and I think that’s the anti stinky key for me…I tried it without—but the deodorant feels wonderful, regardless. I used the arrowroot and have noticed that it is less drying on my skin that cornstarch (I also did a homemade dry shampoo for those days between washes and cornstarch seems to cause dandruff whereas arrowroot does not…go figure). I am just going to remelt and add the tea tree oil. Thank you so much for posting this. I actually like it a bit more lotion like. Easier to use. I had it in my room (cold right now) and it’s pretty solid, lol. In the summer it will be perfect!

Leave a comment